Ed Mell named artist of the year at Governor's Arts Awards

Posted on by az100

Mar. 29, 2012 06:22 PM
The Republic | azcentral.com

Painter Ed Mell, known for his vibrant landscapes of the desert Southwest, was named artist of the year at the Governor’s Arts Awards. The Phoenix native recently designed the Arizona Centennial Postage Stamp, depicting Sedona’s Cathedral Rock.

The 31st annual awards were presented Tuesday at the Herberger Theater Center in Phoenix. Also honored were:

Colleen Jennings-Roggensack, executive director of ASU Gammage, and Robert Breunig, director of the Museum of Northern Arizona, sharing the Individual Award.

Beth Lessard, former chair of the Arizona State University Department of Dance, Arts in Education – Individual Award.

Arizona School for the Arts in Phoenix, Arts in Education – Organization Award.

The Arizona Cowboy Poets Gathering in Prescott, Community Award.

JPMorgan Chase, Business Award.

The 2012 Shelley Award for arts advocacy, named after former Arizona Commission on the Arts director Shelley Cohn, was presented to Tucson’s Darryl Dobras.

The annual awards are presented by the arts commission, Arizona Citizens for the Arts (a non-profit adovcacy group) and the governor’s office.

Celebrate Arizona

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Be notified of upcoming events, press releases and more!

Follow Us!

Will open a new window